Ayurveda six tastes

Yoga Marie Mills
Ayurveda six tastes

We need space, fire and earth for our body mind balance.

Ayurveda six tastes help us correct body balance and awareness of our nutrition.

This is a post follow up from Eating with taste.

Here is a little more information – probably too much than most of you really want to know, but a bit of education helps in order to use the tools correctly. It is always wise to contact an Ayurvedic practioner  to use these rules correctly and with care.

How many of you bought a new gadget and didnt read the instructions, turned it on, only to find out that you needed to attach the super fast charger so it would work better?

Well this is just like that- read on to gain insight into how you can change your way of eating, to eat for your body and mind type.

Ayurveda leaves the decisions with you, you are the one making the choices- but we have to learn how first.

The Ayurveda six tastes applies the rule, ‘Like increases Like and opposites reduce,’ (see the post Eating with taste), to anything in our lives to create balance or imbalance according to the above attributes for each dosha.

When we add in the six tastes for nutrition according to the Ayurvedic system, food becomes a more exact medicine to each body type.

The six tastes are measured for their use on each body type by :
A) The immediate digestive effect.
B) The energetic result of the food in the body,
C) The long term effect of using the substance/food.

A) The immediate digestive effect are the six tastes. These all contain a mix of some of the basic five elements I explained in Eating with taste, which have a certain effect on each dosha depending on how much we consume of each:

1)Neutral -Water & Earth (PLEASE NOTE: Neutral is also referred to as Sweet, but this means ‘that which nourishes’, not the modern day idea that sweet is sugary and refined.)

2)Sour -Earth & Fire

3)Salty- Fire & Water

4)Pungent – Air & Fire

5)Bitter – Ether & Air

6)Astringent – Earth & Air

B)The energetic result of the food in the body is down to three, but the first two are used the most:



3)heating (for very hot/spicy foods)

C) The long term effect on the body, the more we use this food the effect is increased, is down to three:




This means for a dominating Dosha of:

Vata, seek foods that have less Ether/space and Air.

Pitta, seek foods that have less Fire and Water.

Kapha, seek foods that have less Water and Earth.


Ayurveda six tastes

Ayurveda six tastes

Confused? Remember it does help to have an Ayurvedic diet consultation to pinpoint details that may be over looked due our own subjectivity of our nutrition and lifestyle!

To help keep it simple here is a tip:

In a roundabout baby steps rule- take the immediate digestive effects of the Tastes with the attributes of the Doshas, working with the Ayurvedic rule that:

‘Like increases Like-opposites reduce’ means if you have:

Alot of Air and Space (vata dosha = movement) in your constitution, you should turn towards tastes of neutral, sour, salty.

If you have alot of  Fire and Water (pitta dosha = heat) in your constitution, you should turn towards tastes of neutral, bitter, astringent.

If you have alot of  Water and Earth (kapha dosha = phlegm/tissue) in your constitution, you should turn towards tastes of pungent, bitter, astringent.

Note: Ayurveda considers food as medicine. Be discerning when changing your diet, do it with respect and awareness of how your body feels inwardly and as a whole functioning system. These tools work and it is always best to work alongside an Ayurvedic practitioner or therapist to receive guidance and education.

An Ayurvedic diet consultation with Marie will give you education and a new view as to how to care for your body and mind.  Contact Marie direct at 086-1778369

Go gently,
Kelly Marie Mills